Posted by: Joolz2u | November 4, 2008

Election Day ’08

This has been the worst political season I can remember. I have witnessed election fraud live on television. I have had to leave my party of over 25 years. I have had a political epiphany which has left me on the opposite side of the voting machine from friends and family for the first time ever. Except for my parents… that’s a given. I have felt the pressure to capitulate and support a corrupt, inferior candidate. I have been called a racist, all the while watching sexism and vicious misogyny run rampant. I have watched as otherwise thoughtful and intelligent friends have donned political blinders and eschewed truth and reason in the quest for a warm, fuzzy, “teachable moment” (h/t to RD); for a chance to show how open-minded and progressive they are by voting for the African American candidate, despite the fact that he has a razor-thin resume and precious little real experience.

I have become a PUMA and it has been the most difficult, yet oddly the most liberating metamorphosis for me. I have stepped back from partisan politics and really looked at the candidates. In John McCain I have found a man of personal honor, honesty and conviction; a man who is not afraid to challenge his party when he knows it is the right thing to do. John McCain looked around and saw a group of voters who had been disenfranchised by their own party: women. He said “I see you and I hear you and I value you.” John McCain had the courage to choose a woman as his running mate, and the strength of character to accept that at times this woman would outshine him.

Some say that it was political pandering. The sheer hypocrisy of this statement is mind-boggling. The Democrats jettisoned the best, most qualified candidate they had, Hillary Clinton, in order to court the African-American community and the Whole Foods crowd who felt that electing a symbol was more important than electing the most capable candidate.

Do I agree with McCain/Palin on all issues. HELL NO! But at least I know what their positions are and they are steady in their convictions. While Obama has flip-flopped like a trout on a pier on major policy positions, McCain has remained resolute. In the end it comes down to a question of trust, and McCain/Palin with their clear-cut positions and Libertarian bent are people I trust. This may come back to bite me in the ass, but I can only vote my convictions.

At the end of the day, it made me sad to register as “Unaffiliated”, because despite the fact that I usually vote by candidate not party anyway, I have always been, at heart, a moderate Democrat. I have never, ever voted for a Republican in the Presidential race, until early voting started this year. I pushed the button next to McCain/Palin and stared at it for a good, long time before I finalized my vote. It was easy, yet bittersweet. It was the moment I finally accepted that my former party really didn’t want me. I am not a lemming. I never have been. But that’s who I was asked to be: a blind follower who asks no questions and takes everything shoveled at me as the truth.

Obama frightens me and his followers frighten me. His desire for a “Civilian National Security Force” sounds a little too close to the Gestapo or the Stasi for me. His attempts to use law enforcement and the court system in Missouri to silence his opponents is chilling. He has so clearly laid out his plans to silence dissent, yet so many people still blindly follow him. Have we really learned nothing from the past?

So, the long and the short of it is that I voted for McCain/Palin, Pat McCrory and the rest were either Democrats or women from either party. We need more women in government. All I can do is hope that if they win, McCain/Palin will not betray the trust that PUMA’s have placed in them. 

Required reading:

Sister Mary Riverdaughter Explains It All For You.

http://riverdaughter.wordpress.com/2008/11/04/election-day-remember-remember-on-the-4th-of-november/#comments

Peace.

Responses

  1. “All I can do is hope that if they win, McCain/Palin will not betray the trust that PUMA’s have placed in them. ”

    That thought always gives me pause. This is so beautifully written. Thanks for sharing it with us. I think this has been such a hard election for so many of us that just holding hands and sharing the struggle has been healing.

    kat

  2. Thanks, dk. I don’t get many hits on this blog, but I felt so strongly that I needed to share my thoughts today.

    I don’t know what I would have done without all of you at The Confuence.

  3. This post adds to the many reasons why I adore you.

    You are spot on about how blindly people are backing a candidate that has gone back on promises and has questionable loyalty to his country. Is he good looking? Yes. Charismatic? Absolutely. Should he be leading our country? NO.

  4. Awww, right back atcha, Kathy. It’s been incredibly hard to stand up to the pressure. But I couldn’t go against everything I believe about freedom, democracy and equality.

    Hugs.

  5. Thanks for verbalizing all I have been feeling. I too feel like I have lost not only friends but most of the groups I was connected with and believed in. As a former lifetime democrat I am horrified at how the democrats have become the “if you can’t beat them, join them” party doing everything I protested the Republicans for doing 4 years ago. Disenfranchising large groups of the population, voter fraud, blindly following an unqualified and dangerous candidate. It is all very depressing. I hope eventually I can look back on this and feel that I have evolved as a citizen and intellectual being but for right now I plan on enough cosmos to make me oblivious until I wake up tomorrow and enter our brave new world.

  6. vv – enjoy a cosmo for me and know you’re not alone. Thanks for taking the time to comment.

  7. You are heroes…poets…and patriots.

    Thank you all so much for your strength, your courage, your inspiration, and your perseverance! You have gathered the”homeless Democrats” and given us refuge. You have gathered the hopeless and given us hope. You have gathered the dispirited and given us spirit. You (we) should all be so proud of this magnificent coaltion, which crosses gender, race, and age barriers, and which encompasses every state in this great nation.

    Many of the writers here have dedicated their time, their talents, and their hearts to this enterprise. The cost to them has been huge, not only in terms of money and time, but also in terms of interpersonal relationships. I would just like the contributors of these blogs to know that you are appreciated by a very grateful audience. You have been a beacon of truth in a sea of lies. Heroes…poets…patriots…all.

    I hope that many others who check in tonight will take a few moments to thank all the bright, committed, and wonderful people who have made this “PUMA” community possible.

    Thanks for listening. Now, go vote, if you still can or still haven’t.

  8. Anne Marie – thank you so much for your kind and encouraging words.

  9. […] Election Day ‘08 This has been the worst political season I can remember. I have witnessed election fraud live on television. I have had to leave my party of over 25 years. I have had a political epiphany which has left me on the opposite side of the voting machine from friends and family for the first time ever. Except for my parents… that’s a given. I have felt the pressure to capitulate and support a corrupt, inferior candidate. I have been called a racist, all the while watching sexism and vicious misogyny run rampant. I have watched as otherwise thoughtful and intelligent friends have donned political blinders and eschewed truth and reason in the quest for a warm, fuzzy, “teachable moment” (h/t to RD); for a chance to show how open-minded and progressive they are by voting for the African American candidate, despite the fact that he has a razor-thin resume and precious little real experience. I have become a PUMA and it has been the most difficult, yet oddly the most liberating metamorphosis for me. I have stepped back from partisan politics and really looked at the candidates. In John McCain I have found a man of personal honor, honesty and conviction; […] […]

  10. […] Election Day ‘08 This has been the worst political season I can remember. I have witnessed election fraud live on television. I have had to leave my party of over 25 years. I have had a political epiphany which has left me on the opposite side of the voting machine from friends and family for the first time ever. Except for my parents… that’s a given. I have felt the pressure to capitulate and support a corrupt, inferior candidate. I have been called a racist, all the while watching sexism and vicious misogyny […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

